If I could only have one computer this would be it. - Alienware m15 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 7, 2019
  • Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
    Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
    The Alienware m15 R2 can do basically everything I'd ever want a computer to do... but at that price, should you just get two instead?
    Buy Alienware m15 R2
    On Amazon: geni.us/kogAtBr
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVPC
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1111560-if-i-could-only-have-one-computer-this-would-be-it-alienware-m15-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Check out Displate Metal Posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: flash-player.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High flash-player.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 096

  • EasyO
    EasyO Hour ago

    Can you upgrade it to 32 GB RAM?

  • ABHAY BHANGU
    ABHAY BHANGU 11 hours ago

    7:03 oh oh oh wow

  • TheMasterofStupid
    TheMasterofStupid 19 hours ago +1

    What was the headset they have at the pc?

  • Emo Parker
    Emo Parker 20 hours ago

    7:01 Still got the moves!

  • Mustache Merlin
    Mustache Merlin 20 hours ago

    If eye tracking became a standard feature it could massively improve performance with foviated rendering.

  • Etienne Pienaar
    Etienne Pienaar 21 hour ago

    do the new Alienware aurora review please, thanks

  • Alejandro Gallardo

    so u live on an unrealistic and impractical world linus? is that what you are trying to say linus?

  • Roger Alan
    Roger Alan Day ago

    Damn, I’m trying to come back to LTT but I only made it to 4:35 before having merch peddled at me. Oh well, I’ll try again in a few months.

  • SprayJuice YT
    SprayJuice YT 2 days ago

    This is what came out of area 51

  • 68dodgeboy1
    68dodgeboy1 2 days ago

    7:00 Don't do that again, thanks.

  • Mike Loeven
    Mike Loeven 2 days ago +1

    Wont running at around 90 degrees for extended periods reduce the systems life span

  • Alan Qi
    Alan Qi 2 days ago

    IS THE FOLLOW UP OF THE REFRESH RATE VIDEO WITH SHROUDDDDDD

  • EvilHomerSimpson
    EvilHomerSimpson 2 days ago

    Leave it up to Dell to make one ugly ass laptop

  • jitesh shankhpal
    jitesh shankhpal 3 days ago

    why that guy gave such an awkword expresion 9:21

  • Daydreamer
    Daydreamer 3 days ago +2

    Hey there neighbors,
    Anyone know if this laptop would fit in a northface backpack (laptop compartment) ?

  • Flowmotion
    Flowmotion 3 days ago +2

    anyone else here from r/okbuddyretard

  • TrantaLocked
    TrantaLocked 3 days ago

    A $3000+ laptop that has only a 72% sRGB gamut base screen, no numpad, soldered RAM, 100C CPU, and you want to tell me this is the best single-computer option or even a good option for anything other than gaming performance in a small form factor. What a complete garbage ripoff.

  • TrantaLocked
    TrantaLocked 3 days ago

    Your only computer isn't going to have a numpad. Hard pass.

  • Hades
    Hades 3 days ago

    he literally has Linus tech tips underwear wtf

    • Mustache Merlin
      Mustache Merlin 20 hours ago

      he sells it. You too, can have Linus tech tips underwear!

  • Bartosz Kruszona
    Bartosz Kruszona 3 days ago +1

    7:01 My life is complete, now I can die in peace knowing I've seen everything that this world has to offer.

  • Ryan Dudley
    Ryan Dudley 3 days ago

    Alienware sucks m15 r2 keyboard stop working 1 month into service
    On top of that dell services suck

  • Maria Noen
    Maria Noen 3 days ago

    I stopped at onboard memory. 4k to not be able to upgrade the memory in the future, nope , you guys have to understand that no spec in the world can take advantage of you. and if we stay together the industry will follow.

    • TrantaLocked
      TrantaLocked 3 days ago

      Yeah this laptop is a total scam. I'd rather buy a Macbook.

  • Sabre
    Sabre 4 days ago +1

    7:04 I did not know that when I clicked on this video, I would have bulges shoved into my face

  • Golden Apple
    Golden Apple 4 days ago

    Good video.

  • Bro Bless
    Bro Bless 4 days ago

    im color blind fuck sRGB

  • Roxanne Kotlyaroff
    Roxanne Kotlyaroff 4 days ago

    Hi ! Everyone ; we have Apple Mac book pro with only 8 GB of memory can that be upgraded to 16 GB and same goes for our Apple iMac. THANKS !

  • Stephen Manary
    Stephen Manary 4 days ago

    Feel like there should have been "Seizure Warning" at 7:00

  • victoria zumbado
    victoria zumbado 4 days ago

    Nooo come one 7:00 was a bad experience put your clothes and try different ways to sell your merchandise

  • Jeffrey Green
    Jeffrey Green 5 days ago

    Tobii eye-tracking does support Windows Hello, at least it does on my Alienware 17 R4. I did have to re-install the drivers to get it working though. It seems to work for windows login even if eye-tracking is disabled.

  • A s t h e t i c a l y P l e a s i n g

    Someone tell linus to review the eluktronic mag-15 laptop

  • TheFreak InTheFlame
    TheFreak InTheFlame 5 days ago

    Would the asus ROG strix scar 3 be a good replacement?

  • pinche dox
    pinche dox 5 days ago +12

    linus's face looks like hes worried about losing alienware as an affiliate after he said its twice as fast LOL

  • Ian Konstantino
    Ian Konstantino 5 days ago

    The rocket League background :)

  • melvin khosa
    melvin khosa 5 days ago

    Linus and Alex needs to try the MSI GT75 Titan's keyboard. Hands down the best keyboard in any laptop out there (aside from the GT83 which has a full sized mechanical keyboard).

  • Lars Sims
    Lars Sims 5 days ago

    I rly want this.

  • Abeille Magique Dans Coquelicot

    Yeah just dont buy it

  • Matthias Möhle
    Matthias Möhle 5 days ago

    Well buy the potent desktop and stream the game from there you need to play on the laptop.

  • rb_plays
    rb_plays 5 days ago

    Please....PLEASE...stop zooming in on Linus in his underwear....

  • Bob Dobbs
    Bob Dobbs 6 days ago

    Maximum of 16 GB of RAM for your "one" computer AND it's costs $3,000.00? Linus... buddy. You're better than this man.

  • BOUNCEHOUSE
    BOUNCEHOUSE 6 days ago

    YOu should hands on the Razer Blade 15. I have had this laptop for about 8 months with similar specs and I still prefer it to the m15

  • RS1
    RS1 6 days ago

    How come people dont like alienware? I always see bad comments about them but with no proof.
    (Just getting into computer stuff.)

    • First Name Last Name
      First Name Last Name 4 days ago

      They're pretty notorious for being overpriced, and pray you get a functioning one if you do buy. Dell support is one of the worst things to experience. Ever. I bought a Dell 34inch ultrawide that had almost 1/4 screen back light bleed. I RMAd it, got a nasty refurb that had a huge 2in gash on the bezel so bad it showed metal. Beyond comprehension how anyone would think it was OK to send to a customer. RMAd that, bitched at support for sending a shitty unit & they promised a new retail one. Got another garbage refurb. Had the same, horrible back light bleed. Oh, there was a $30 voucher that came with the monitor, and I bought a pcie usb 3.0 card. Didn't work in 3 machines I tried it in.
      Friend had a similar experience with his keyboard and ssd in laptop. Constant missed key presses, & bsods with "no bootable media present", where machine would randomly not see the os drive. Sent it in for service, took them 6 weeks round trip. Problems showed up again literally days later.
      Watch the series on this channel of "are computer manufacturers ripping you off?" or something and see how horrible dell does, particularly in the tech support section. They're abysmal. It's your money, but I'd buy a pre-built or laptop from absolutely anyone else. Nothing dell,ever again.

  • Sankhadip Mazumder
    Sankhadip Mazumder 6 days ago

    7:06 ...Now i am blind , linus you better pay for my future wife n kids

  • Spazza42
    Spazza42 6 days ago

    Buy the older gen 15’s with a 1070 and quad core processor. Cheaper and plenty of power for the foreseeable

  • Wyatt Smith
    Wyatt Smith 6 days ago

    disliked solely for the underwear macbook pro segment

  • Noxious
    Noxious 6 days ago

    3:25 have you u guys seen the Romanian Flag on the car?

  • Anonymous
    Anonymous 7 days ago

    So now they soldered the RAM in? I remember when I got my m15x back in 09' and they literally charged like $500 for the RAM upgrade option from slowest to best. I got it with base RAM and CPU options then upgraded them myself to the max RAM and CPU configuration and literally saved about $1000. I realized after spending roughly $2500 I could've bought a car instead. It was a unique gaming experience nonetheless. It also had the magnesium alloy chassis. It could run Unreal Tournament 3 (best looking game at the time) at max settings 1024×768 resolution at around 60 fps. It was capable of a resolution maximum of 1920×1200 which at the time was the highest you could get on a screen that small (15").

  • Avacado Kid
    Avacado Kid 7 days ago

    boi when you review something i wanna know if it can run vr headsets

  • Goofball Gaming
    Goofball Gaming 7 days ago

    Laptop and gaming is an oxymoron

  • Luc1d9
    Luc1d9 7 days ago

    I wish i just had a 100 dollars pls anyone send me some money through paypal that would seriously make my life i have a computer which is bot mine but i want to buy a graphics card which is 150 and my monthly money that i get is 40 dollars lol pls anyone

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 7 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • B.N.R multitec
    B.N.R multitec 7 days ago

    Any updates about surface book 3....

  • Tech-WonDo
    Tech-WonDo 7 days ago

    Why you didn't talk about the badly placed webcam?

  • Tech-WonDo
    Tech-WonDo 7 days ago

    I see the Octane as a wallpaper, I press Like

  • DJScrivbits
    DJScrivbits 7 days ago

    Sorry don’t speak rich

  • J R
    J R 7 days ago

    Can anyone tell me why the 15" is worth buying when (for me in New Zealand) the 17" is actually cheaper. It still has a 144hz monitor, and i would prefer a larger screen.

  • Jazz A
    Jazz A 7 days ago

    This is one of the best reviews I've seen on LTT including the gem at 07:00 lmao. The backing music works beautifully and coupled with the animated desk gives this video such a nice atmosphere, the set gives me an upgraded Dave2D(Is that his name? I can't remember I got linus on my mind) vibe.

    The new sets are wonderfully designed, I have no idea who Linus & Ivan are off camera, but when so many talented individuals gather around two people, one can see they are great people. I dunno why I love the vibe of this video so much. You guys are amazing to watch grow.

  • Henrik Lahn Andersen

    ......... whaaattt??? Dude at the 2460$ pricepoint, you can still buy the 1000$ surface laptop, and have 1460$ for your PC ...... You can get a pretty banging PC for that! Make it a Ryzen 5 3600 and an RX 5700 XT for 1100$ (Basically look online for these builds... this one +50$ more for the RX 5700 XT over the RTX 2060 Super - and you are pretty much there! pcpartpicker.com/guide/R3G323/great-amd-gamingstreaming-build ) This gives you 360$ for a monitor, keyboard and mouse - which is pretty damn doable these days...

    I don't care what performance this computer has - it's overpriced AF! (don't forget - they actually picked a cheaper model - the I9 is 400$ more - so close to 4K $ at that point ... da fak!) And saying the keyboard is "almost as good as a Lenovo keyboard" ............. SERIOUSLY they have been making those keyboards for 20 years now and they have barely changed. The fact that ALL computers in that pricerange doesn't have this is what you should focus on rather than "OMG this one does" - one question though! Where the fuck is the numpad? Most Lenovo computers of this size has a numpad - and unless your computer is nothing more than a souped up netbook, not having it is fucking unacceptable... especially if you want to do anything other than gaming on it! Try doing your taxes or whatever with the numbers above the letters... I would rather have my dick stuck in a rotating door! Gaming laptops are in general shit and not worth the money..... and the premium on this is downright moronic!

  • Dani L
    Dani L 7 days ago

    my only question is: are the drivers supported for arch?

  • Spooki
    Spooki 7 days ago

    2.5k .... damn

  • evans yomu
    evans yomu 7 days ago

    RAZER BLADE PRO 17.3 INCH 4K touch with 120HZ screen