REVIEW: Ubuntu Touch Smartphone OS!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 17, 2017
  • We take a deeper examination of Canonical's Ubuntu Touch OS.
    Find Ubuntu Phones: goo.gl/6VItiq
    Find the Nexus 5: amzn.to/2jSq8v2
    Nexus 4: amzn.to/2iFIkuc
    Ubuntu Touch (also known as Ubuntu Phone) is a mobile version of the Ubuntu operating system developed by Canonical Ltd. and the Ubuntu community. It is designed primarily for touchscreen mobile devices such as smartphones and tablet computers.
    Ubuntu Touch uses the Qt 5-based touch user interface and various software frameworks originally developed for Maemo and MeeGo such as oFono as telephony stack, accounts-sso for single sign-on, and Maliit for input. Using libhybris the system can often be used with Linux kernels used in Android, which makes it easily ported to most recent Android smartphones. Libertine is Ubuntu's project to run traditional desktop X applications.
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 274

  • Leo Coogan
    Leo Coogan Month ago

    this comment section is bad...

  • Mini-anthrax
    Mini-anthrax Month ago

    i feel like this could have been a greate os. but the lack of app & dev made i discontinued.

  • Jalakam Kiran
    Jalakam Kiran 3 months ago

    Can we get a installation guide to install it in Samsung devices??

    • Fahim Salam Chowdhury
      Fahim Salam Chowdhury 3 months ago

      check devices.ubuntu-touch.io/ you need to create halium port your own device

  • R A
    R A 3 months ago

    I am never gonna use any Google products afte learning a lesson after huawei case don't want to be a victim as a consumer.

  • Ultreïa Sherpa
    Ultreïa Sherpa 3 months ago +2

    stop pronouncing it Ubanta. It is pronounced OOBOONTOO

  • Shiva Shankar
    Shiva Shankar 3 months ago +1

    Huawei pls use this for future OS!! No need Android and iOS

  • Den Afric
    Den Afric 3 months ago +13

    Can Huawei use this os?

    • leiwolang
      leiwolang 3 months ago +1

      This is discontinued. Due to lack of apps and developers. But I expected this would be a turn around as fed up with Android and Apple. May be Huawei can use sail fish os and it supports Android apps I suppose.

    • Pranaya Adhikari
      Pranaya Adhikari 3 months ago +1

      Yes, they can if they want to.

    • let's molt
      let's molt 3 months ago +2

      I think so becaise it's open Source.

  • cesar henrique
    cesar henrique 5 months ago

    Hello, just wanna know if its possible to install whats app on ubuntu OS. ty

  • Ahril Abd
    Ahril Abd 5 months ago

    Well at least finally a Phone review video that doesn't mention that googly os. Awesome. Hope it gets more developed.

  • Sumanta Kollya
    Sumanta Kollya 6 months ago +1

    This was so much feature rich.

  • Alwi Hasan
    Alwi Hasan 6 months ago +1

    Wow... there's Terminal! Can we use sudo?

  • wonderful yovr
    wonderful yovr 6 months ago

    Thevr

  • Live the truth
    Live the truth 6 months ago +1

    For anyone who didn't realize, UBports is continuing this project: ubports.com I'm thinking about switching since Sailfish OS won't send MMS with my carrier (Ting).

  • Nagendra Mishra
    Nagendra Mishra 7 months ago

    Android is better

  • Parts Land Rover
    Parts Land Rover 8 months ago

    Видео то что надо, спасибо!

  • Prime Royal
    Prime Royal 9 months ago +1

    Ubuntu touch isn't discontinued. UBports Community now-a-day maintains it. However, you can't get any update. You have to stick with 16.04 ubuntu kernel and old Linux apps and community-built apps. More at ubports.com

  • Bitan chowdhury
    Bitan chowdhury 9 months ago

    Ubuntu and elegance!!! 🙄 ..... Although the os is great in terms of functionality, ease of use and usability.

  • Tayo Onobrakpeya
    Tayo Onobrakpeya 9 months ago

    Idgaf about the ui just put me in that terminal

  • Riad Ahmed
    Riad Ahmed 9 months ago

    NFC Payment system?

  • Tounsi Behi
    Tounsi Behi 9 months ago

    rip

  • 7unkrat
    7unkrat 10 months ago +1

    Still wishing it will come back to life in 2018

  • Asi Tharani
    Asi Tharani 10 months ago +1

    Super os In mobile also

  • Sujeet Kumar
    Sujeet Kumar 11 months ago +1

    Ubuntu in pc amazing

  • jigga jaw
    jigga jaw 11 months ago

    any chance to install on a samsung?

  • MaoItsMe
    MaoItsMe Year ago

    can I install apks on it?

  • mister smith
    mister smith Year ago

    I would prefer this on my Galaxy S8 hands down over Android.

  • Tony Amin
    Tony Amin Year ago

    Can you still send and receive calls/texts?

  • Freedom Of Speech

    nothing can compete Android and ios. even in future

  • Mr Peco
    Mr Peco Year ago +6

    universities should start like programming communities that do stuff like this

  • Miljörör för Språkpartiet

    Looking good, but it suffers from the same sickness as iOS and Blackberry devices. No desktop = no thanks.

  • AD mzo
    AD mzo Year ago

    How many cool linux based phones going to oblivion, why don't all OS's get together for once and for all and make just "one" fucking cellphone that lasts????. Port favor chingado!!!

  • Abdullah Zafar
    Abdullah Zafar Year ago +14

    It still hurts to see this platform never took off

  • Rob
    Rob Year ago

    a mobile OS with a command line..LUL. way to take one step foward and 20 years back.

  • cunning wolf
    cunning wolf Year ago

    does it have discord?

  • Jay42207
    Jay42207 Year ago

    Is there a flashlight like android?
    Also does the phone need to be rooted?

  • To Hell With Ibipitanga

    Does it have miracast?

  • Marc D
    Marc D Year ago

    gmail??? lol

  • TechPimp
    TechPimp Year ago

    I love the OS but the 3rd party so support will always be lacking unfortunately. They have to make it so you can install the Amazon store and be able to install and support Android apps for it to go anywhere.

  • bloodaxe
    bloodaxe Year ago

    Those bezels are huge !

  • Filip
    Filip Year ago

    If this had a little bit more apps i would put it on my phone this millisecond

  • moosesnWoop123
    moosesnWoop123 Year ago

    quality review dude.

  • MuzicFreakNumberOne

    Such a shame that it won't get developed anymore. It looks so nice and quite responsive, so if it had got more support, it could have become a real alternative.

  • Kalvin Johnny
    Kalvin Johnny Year ago

    UU bOn two

  • TheLogicJunkie
    TheLogicJunkie Year ago

    Are you SURE this runs on Galaxy Nexus? Because it's not one of the devices listed on UB Ports.

  • Lock movie
    Lock movie Year ago

    does it have terminal command in that OS ?

  • Yosin Liu
    Yosin Liu Year ago

    developers not work now?

  • Steven M
    Steven M Year ago

    its like the nintendo switch

  • O S Raikar
    O S Raikar Year ago

    Android is best

  • Metal Lemon
    Metal Lemon Year ago

    Ooboontoo

  • KAIOKEN X 1000
    KAIOKEN X 1000 Year ago

    You suck

  • Izlude Tingel
    Izlude Tingel Year ago

    When are phone makers gonna support open source software natively like a PC? Just install and away you go!

  • Patrick Hastings
    Patrick Hastings Year ago

    Where this was backed by Amazon I think I would have bought one if Amazon publicly came out and said they were thinking of supporting this as their daily driver.

  • Paper Bag Man
    Paper Bag Man Year ago +18

    Oh PLEASE take off, Ubuntu mobile! We need a third alternative to Android and iOS. We all know why iOS is shitty, Android is still great now, but I don't see it being good for so long. It looks like they're following the steps of iOS. And aside from that, Google and Apple's data collection is something someone sane would consider criminal. When Android goes shitty, then there won't be a difference between Android and iOS. Same thing happened to Microsoft. Windows is shit now, and thankfully we have Linux as a great alternative. I hope the same thing happens with mobile OSes.

    • Live the truth
      Live the truth 6 months ago

      @TVCH LORD Thankfully, UBports picked it up, and it seems like they're doing a fantastic job. ubports.com I'm considering making the switch from Sailfish OS.

    • Kishawn OP
      Kishawn OP Year ago

      You know apple uses os right

    • tranquilaki
      tranquilaki Year ago

      No it's not. It's under the name ubports now. It no longer has canonical support but it exists and they have three devices fully supported currently.

    • Paper Bag Man
      Paper Bag Man Year ago

      TVCH LORD Dang, well that is a shame.

    • TVCH LORD
      TVCH LORD Year ago +1

      the project is dead

  • solobackpacking
    solobackpacking Year ago

    Ubuntu Touch is horribly configured and hardly supported. One has to basically reconfigure EVERYTHING.
    It is as if Ubuntu said, "we really don't have the time or desire to put Ubuntu on portable devices, so we will get our least competent developer to work on it part time."

  • funkmouth
    funkmouth 2 years ago +2

    I just want anything without all the junkware...ie google shit

    • SixFilmsGaming !
      SixFilmsGaming ! Year ago

      @Josh V Magic from 11 months later, UBports is born!! And it develops Ubuntu touch!

    • Josh V
      Josh V Year ago +1

      Or comes on an affordable smartphone with more than one port...ie Apple. Unfortunately Cannonical ended this. We really need a good 3rd mobile OS option.

  • amaz1ngpizza
    amaz1ngpizza 2 years ago +10

    It's sad such an innovative OS died out, Canonical should give it another chance

    • Prime Royal
      Prime Royal 9 months ago

      Ubuntu Touch is not dead.However,it is renamed to ubports or Ubuntu Portable. It is rank 107 in Distrowatch. Link: www.ubports.com

    • carolyn mmitchell
      carolyn mmitchell Year ago +3

      Marian Plisnak I would, this shit needs to be crowd funded fuck Google and Apple.

    • Marian Plisnak
      Marian Plisnak Year ago +1

      if every single one of us would ever donate only 1 € .... this project wouldnt be dead

  • Caleb Hawn
    Caleb Hawn 2 years ago

    I want one of these phones!

  • Jogie Glen Mait
    Jogie Glen Mait 2 years ago

    It had a lot of potential but ended so suddenly. So long, convergence.

  • Halfanatic
    Halfanatic 2 years ago

    now available on the fairphone 2

  • fat man skinny woman
    fat man skinny woman 2 years ago

    I want to find phones for sale already installed with competitive os 's of iOS and Android