Maybe VR isn't dead after all... - Valve Index Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 12, 2019
  • Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
    Get iFixit's Marlin Screwdriver set today for only $24.99 USD at www.ifixit.com/linus
    We had almost completely lost faith in the progress of consumer VR products... until the Valve Index arrived at our office.
    Buy Valve Index on Amazon: geni.us/b9sad0
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1093318-maybe-vr-isnt-dead-after-all/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: flash-player.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High flash-player.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 160

  • Phillipe
    Phillipe Month ago +3443

    Oculus Rift S, anyone? Linus forgot to mention it entirely!!!!!!! No need for extra cameras at all, for $ 400, it’s a good VR headset...

    • CrazyCajun J
      CrazyCajun J Day ago

      Phillipe Nope.... He did not mention it for a reason lol

    • Space Alligator
      Space Alligator 3 days ago

      Rift S has NO IPD ADJUSTMENT. >:(

      literally had to return mine.

    • Masterpj555
      Masterpj555 3 days ago

      the camera inside out tracking sucks compared to laser tracking.

    • fadly A. Rahman
      fadly A. Rahman 6 days ago

      Only sheltered rich kid detached from the outside world complain about Rift S. For me, Rift S is a first proper PC VR headset with a price within reach of most consumers (me one of them). When Rift S and Quest came out, i praised to god for full five minutes. I've had it with phone VR at that point. Now I'm a proud owner of Oculus Quest. I had to imported it from US because it's not available in my country. But boy was it a great headset for it's price. I'm sure Index is better. But I settled for affordable and good rather than better.

    • HotPoppinCosmoBeamer
      HotPoppinCosmoBeamer 8 days ago

      Blah, to hell with Oculus and their anti-consumer BS.
      I've been an Oculus guy since the start, but I will never buy another Oculus product again!

  • Kv GN
    Kv GN 52 minutes ago

    I see Switch & Wii U

  • EluciaDeLuteIma
    EluciaDeLuteIma 13 hours ago

    12:52 10/10 cat moment.

  • Alex Kumlin
    Alex Kumlin 15 hours ago

    at 13:07 ATTACK

  • Abcde fghij
    Abcde fghij 15 hours ago +3

    17:38 Your son picked his nose and then ate the booger. He thought he was slick but he wasn't.

  • vrAddict
    vrAddict 16 hours ago

    I like how he censores the Middlefinger but not the bloody gladiator game

  • Garrett Patterson
    Garrett Patterson 22 hours ago

    You sound exactly like the guy I play PokerStarsVr with..... crazy

  • It's Omega
    It's Omega Day ago +1

    Whole individual finger controls. ( ͡◉ ͜ ʖ ͡◉)

  • It's Omega
    It's Omega Day ago

    KITTY

  • Greenskate7
    Greenskate7 Day ago +1

    What about the quest you should do try that I love my quest it isn’t a index but I got a bad pc and it’s a good standalone headset

  • John Wiggins
    John Wiggins Day ago +2

    I love the way your cat was just chillin in the box like, Hey put that lid back on dude lol

  • Harry Baskets
    Harry Baskets Day ago

    12:47 😻

  • CrazyCajun J
    CrazyCajun J Day ago +1

    Was the Index Cat extra charge?

  • Ben Goldwerger
    Ben Goldwerger Day ago

    3:32 i've seen this video 3 times and haven't noticed that cat wtf is wrong with me?????????????

  • OniMau619
    OniMau619 Day ago

    7:40 Well shoot. And here I was hoping to upgrade to the index but my laptop doesn't have a displayport.

  • Yus 18
    Yus 18 Day ago

    When u wanna flex but not seem like it so you put ugly couches so u seem broke aswell

  • STEREO Freq
    STEREO Freq Day ago

    Index is just as crap as vive or oculus

  • Mario versatile
    Mario versatile Day ago

    Is cat included to headset?

  • Jukka Muhonen
    Jukka Muhonen Day ago

    Basically index is Vive Pro with better controllers, last time you said Vive Pro is shit 😂

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      @Jukka Muhonen you have zero clue what you are talking about

    • Jukka Muhonen
      Jukka Muhonen Day ago

      And Vive Pro was published year ago, Price was couple hundred More than index, year ago. Biggest issue was Price. Now index follows same pricing and it's amazing.

  • hamad1027
    hamad1027 Day ago

    22:15 the price

  • hamad1027
    hamad1027 2 days ago

    15:08 look at headset reflection

  • Ioan Bristow
    Ioan Bristow 2 days ago

    Good review and you have my exact same tv! I love that LG 65" I have the orginal vive and still love it but might upgrade soon probably the valve if I win the lottery

  • adam heeley
    adam heeley 2 days ago

    I am not going to purchase any VR stuff for at least another 5 years. I don't think we are anywhere close to an actual VR experience at this point.

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      You couldn't be more wrong, VR is here, it's been good for YEARS. Stop being a bitch and go out and actually try it.

  • nccrawford
    nccrawford 2 days ago

    12:00 I cannot believe that I live in a world that "straight" grown men have earings and wish for a strap-on experience in their play area...

  • jawndoekck
    jawndoekck 2 days ago +1

    "I wish it was more of a strap-on experience." Well we now know what Linus really wants from his wife.

  • The Transducer
    The Transducer 2 days ago

    Ha, my cat does the same thing!

  • Kanbei Water
    Kanbei Water 3 days ago

    12:55

  • Sylvano Tumelero
    Sylvano Tumelero 3 days ago

    Would this be a good choice as a first VR headset?

    • Sylvano Tumelero
      Sylvano Tumelero Day ago

      @EVOLICIOUS Intel i7 - 4790. Maybe I'll get a new graphic card. Cpu wise that should be fine, no? Maybe it's time for an upgrade.

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      @Sylvano Tumelero yea, that is not going to cut it, also, the CPU is slightly more important than the GPU when it comes to VR. Best to start with the Rift S. Index is a different animal on a whole other level.

    • Sylvano Tumelero
      Sylvano Tumelero Day ago

      @Hellas_xD Well, my graphics are maybe at the lower limit. I use a gtx 980. The rest is/should be fine.

    • Hellas_xD
      Hellas_xD Day ago +1

      Sylvano Tumelero If you got a good enough pc and the money then yes

  • Keithz100
    Keithz100 3 days ago

    omg you get a cat too im buying one right now LOL

  • Ninya
    Ninya 3 days ago +1

    im getting an Oculus Rift S soon,i have heard they are anti-pc,but its cheap,and the best option for me right now. this looks incredible though,i cannot wait to make videos on videos with vr capabilities!

  • Tom Kazansky
    Tom Kazansky 3 days ago

    I just want to know what the FoV range is.... literally no one on the internet is giving a range.

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      Because it defends on the face. Most people will get around 110-130 FOV.

  • crfrider450
    crfrider450 3 days ago

    Not available in Aus either. Who knows whether or not we will get it at all

    • crfrider450
      crfrider450 17 hours ago

      @EVOLICIOUS possibility to buy ebay or something internationally?

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      Never, Valve does not ship products to all countries, only a select few.

  • Tom Kazansky
    Tom Kazansky 3 days ago +2

    I dont know why you keep saying vr is dead, I literally only play games in vr, aside from hoi4.
    My main jam is DCS and IL2. I literally cannot play them without VR, like it is spoiled me for life.

    • Greenskate7
      Greenskate7 Day ago

      Tom Kazansky yeah also with the quest coming out, the great community has grown millions and every game on quest is getting sales. Vr is definitely not dead

  • Daniel Kleimenovas
    Daniel Kleimenovas 3 days ago +1

    Vive index woah. I know he realised that he said that lol

  • Masterpj555
    Masterpj555 3 days ago +2

    the zones for fingers calibrate themselves.. its self learning.. you didn't play any proper valve knuckles titles for a very fair review if I'm honest.
    The strap is way more superior.

  • JokeRGBlazE
    JokeRGBlazE 3 days ago

    Children aren't done developing their inner ear depth perception or equilibrium in balance until the age of 13 14ish, and Linus is letting his five-year-old go into VR and risk permanently damaging what makes normal humans function... parents of the year. Every time I play a VR social game and there's little children screaming I'll think of Linus now

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      lol, you have no idea how the human body works, do you? Get an education because the garbage shit you just spewed out is not even remotely scientifically correct.

  • NPC 99845
    NPC 99845 4 days ago

    He likes a good strap on experienece...

  • Petrolhead
    Petrolhead 4 days ago

    Fab cat and typical, they just love boxes

  • NPC 99845
    NPC 99845 4 days ago

    Lighthouses schmitehouses.

  • TheMightyKinkle
    TheMightyKinkle 4 days ago

    Why are you standing on the church roof in your wedding photo?

  • inkling 2114
    inkling 2114 4 days ago

    8:15 linus has a Wii u
    なに?!

  • Geno Damato
    Geno Damato 4 days ago

    3:33

  • Jordan Bowes
    Jordan Bowes 4 days ago

    Get rid of the cats haha

  • cameron gale
    cameron gale 4 days ago

    i was looking into the pimax 8k. I really hate the resolution of the original vive, so clearity wise witch it better? Valve Index or pimax 8k?

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS Day ago

      lol, Index obviously. Pimax is chinese knock-off VR trash.

    • Masterpj555
      Masterpj555 3 days ago

      index

  • ForbidenProdigy
    ForbidenProdigy 4 days ago

    Just a heads up for people wanting to buy this. Don't click the link in the description to Amazon. They charge $1,299 when you could just go on Steam and buy it from there for only $999.

  • HumorDash
    HumorDash 4 days ago

    is that a custom avatar

  • Jono Bennett
    Jono Bennett 4 days ago +1

    Cats are the worst. They're just obnoxious snakes with fur.

  • SwishTango
    SwishTango 4 days ago

    Mine didn’t come with a cat... I’m thinking of returning it

  • camden is lame
    camden is lame 4 days ago

    3:35 nobody not a soul cat in the box

  • Arma Lol
    Arma Lol 5 days ago

    kill that fucking cat. They are fucking worthless animal. Get a DOG instead.

  • Luke Stanley
    Luke Stanley 5 days ago +1

    "a strap on experience"

  • Venom
    Venom 5 days ago

    I will never get convinced to this tech

    • EVOLICIOUS
      EVOLICIOUS 5 days ago +1

      because you've never tried it. Once you try it, you'll understand.

  • Darkskysz storm
    Darkskysz storm 5 days ago

    did he put cat nip in the vr box to get the perfect shot or are cats also curious about vr and how to run over your keyboard to get your attention especially when its gonna even harder now i mean *meow*

    nvm cat is learning how to distract it already noted down that knocking the switch and controllers in front of TV works best

  • Cat Mole
    Cat Mole 5 days ago

    You gonna do a rift s or quest review?

  • Mubeen Haider
    Mubeen Haider 5 days ago

    i want to friend you in steam

  • Mubeen Haider
    Mubeen Haider 5 days ago

    what is your username in steam
    ?????

  • ReeEEE! NORMIEGETOUT!!

    let me guess, they made a LGBTQ game where you can blow your boyfriend, play with his balls, and tickle his butthole in vr with a headset and 2 controllers? yah, you'd love that wouldnt you linus.

  • 88DoMiNoE
    88DoMiNoE 6 days ago

    I am looking into buying a Valve Index but need to upgrade my 7 year old pc...hence build it from scratch.
    What components does your pc have?

    • Masla 35
      Masla 35 2 days ago

      Umm my pc isnt that good

  • Sailingsnail
    Sailingsnail 6 days ago

    Man the way Linus just tosses his gear onto the ground is so disheartening. I’m currently working my ass off to buy an Oculus Quest. If I could have the valve pro that’d be a dream.

  • Sean Joy
    Sean Joy 6 days ago +1

    "I still do wish it was more of a strap on experience" @ 11:59

    Also 15:02